Fitness & Health · Life · Personal

The Fitness Industry: Weighing in on the Negativity

For months now I have been battling with myself on a huge topic. I am in the final stages of getting my certification to be a personal trainer. I am wildly excited but also stressed because I’m having a hard time gaining exposure through social media. You see, my passion is helping people discover a healthy lifestyle and learning how to enjoy it and make it fun. More so then building a workout for an individual, I want to help them build love for themselves and positivity. Now that I think about it, I might be better as a coach rather than a trainer. I will return within the next few months to learn coaching and nutrition as I feel that is my utmost passion.

Along the way, I have been battling with the ways to gain more exposure. I have tried so hard to build my social media pages in hopes of people finding me, for whatever reason, looking to me as inspiration, and by some miracle, messaging me to talk and ask advice. That’s what makes me warm inside and feel like I have finally reached success is to see that people trust me enough to ask me questions and they feel safe enough sharing their reality and truth with me. I’m not judging you if you tell me you just ate an entire box of doughnuts alone in a closet. There are plenty of weak moments I have endured that I am not-so-proud to admit.

Here’s the thing: I want to build a name for myself by helping people and changing their lives. In order to do so, I NEED exposure. While there are options that may help with that, it would mean standing for something I don’t believe in. Companies like BeachBody (just wait, don’t hate me). I LOVE BeachBody’s workout programs and their inspiring trainers. I have considered becoming a coach in order to 1)gain the needed exposure and 2)maybe one day meet the trainers. While I can back their programs, I cannot back their “nutritional” products and supplements. I also can’t back the fact of what it means to be a coach. What I mean is, ANYONE can be a coach…with absolutely no experience or education. Now, I don’t know what BeachBody tells it’s coaches to say BUT, I have seen many of these “coaches” post the wrong information, some of which could actually HURT the people who follow them and read this stuff. Not all, but some. These coaches pay a monthly fee and from there they are given this label to which most of the public believes they have some sort of special education. They do not unless they are also certified or have a degree within the field. To build on that, I do know some certified personal trainers who also are BeachBody coaches, although I’m not sure I understand that fully. As a personal trainer, you should not recommend supplements as they are not FDA approved. Although I use supplements, and have for years, they are only safe until proven unsafe and considered safe only by the manufacturers. They are not required to be FDA regulated.

I will forever love this company and many more similar companies, but, it’s companies like this that are money hungry and they may not be doing what they’re doing for the right reasons. Which brings me to the industry’s image as well. Do any of the images below ring any bells?

Within the fitness industry, like most industries, sex sells. While I get it, if I’m a trainer, my body is my product. I am like my own walking billboard. BUT, to those just starting out or trying or wanting to make a change, how intimidating is it to go to a trainer’s website and see pictures of them posted all over, in teeny bikinis or, for men, shirtless with raging pectorals, clear cut abs, and perky booties? I’m not saying don’t do it, I’m just saying it’s overdone and to the general public this is not inspiring, it’s intimidating and used to SELL, SELL, SELL!

You’re probably wondering at this point if I’m saying we should offer our services for free? Absolutely not. Like any service, of course I expect you to pay me for my time. I do have a family after all. I’m just saying that when it comes to a profession like this, within this industry, I think it’s becoming less and less about helping people change their lives, and more and more about shoving crap down their throats because we’re “hot” and have “perfect bodies” so they’re going to buy from us!

That’s another thing: I don’t workout to be “hot” and I don’t strive for this “perfect body” I hear about. I workout, I eat right, I do what’s good for me because I want to feel good and strong, and a nice looking body just falls into place if that’s done properly.

On a final note, I know I post a lot on social media. And usually these photos are during my workout where you’ll see me in shorts and a sports bra. This is not to “show off” and it isn’t provactively done. You will never see me working out in a bikini (I’ve seen it. And hey if that’s you, do your thing) or my underwear, or posting about how “hot” I am. I do it to help keep me accountable (because I worry less about the scale) and because I get so damn HOT! and sweat so freaking much! 😀

Bottom line: Be careful about who you choose to help you along your journey. Make sure they are qualified and make sure their main goal is to help you.

 

Love you guys! ❤

 

@faithengenellis101

One thought on “The Fitness Industry: Weighing in on the Negativity

Leave a comment