Deconstructed Egg Roll

Welcome to another recipe on this beautiful Sunday!

You Pressers/Grammers are really going to love this one I think. You can interchange it for flavor differentiation and it’s clean and healthy but tastes sooo good! You will feel like you’re cheating on your healthy eating (Chinese takeout anyone?) but you won’t be (who needs it)!

First let me say, I got most of my ingredients from Aldi, so it was delicious and inexpensive. I don’t like the word ‘cheap’ because ‘cheap’ to me means of lesser quality. Aldi’s produce is so not ‘cheap’, but it is inexpensive! Try it, I guarantee you won’t regret it.

Moving on: I used Ground Hot Italian Sausage in my recipe, but you could use ground pork, ground turkey, ground beef, even ground chicken. I think the hot Italian sausage added a ton of extra flavor without me having to season it.

20170617_142517

This recipe is super simple. You cut up your onion and throw that in a skillet with hot olive oil and allow it to cook before adding your sausage.

 

Italian Sausage

Deconstructed Egg Roll

Once you have added your sausage, salt, pepper and Sriracha, allow the sausage to cook all the way through before adding your coleslaw.

20170617_144128

Deconstructed Egg Roll

Once you add your coleslaw, begin to slowly mix all of the ingredients in the pan in order to get those flavors transferred throughout the coleslaw mix. For the next few minutes, keep an eye on it and continue to mix. Take it off when the coleslaw is your desired texture, I liked mine a bit crunchy.

Deconstructed Egg Roll

Cole Slaw and Italian Sausage Deconstructed Egg Roll

I haven’t tried it, but I feel this would go nicely over some rice. Another idea would be to either but egg roll wrappers and make a full on egg roll, or serve a baked egg roll wrapper on the side. I enjoyed it as it is though! The full recipe is below:

 

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced (or garlic powder to taste)
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 1 lb ground pork/turkey/ or Italian sausage
  • sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tbsp Sriracha or more to taste
  • 14 oz bag coleslaw
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce

Instructions

  1. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Add the garlic and onion. Sauté until the onions are translucent and the garlic is fragrant.
  3. Add the ground sausage, sea salt, black pepper and Sriracha. Sauté until the sausage is cooked through.
  4. Add the coleslaw mix and soy sauce. Sauté until the coleslaw is tender (I liked my to stay a bit crunchy)
  5. Feel free to serve with a side of rice if you’re feeling some carbs.
One thought on “Deconstructed Egg Roll

Leave a Reply

