Fitness & Health · Life · Miscellaneous · Personal

5 Ways to Get Motivated to Workout

When I was first introduced to fitness, I began in a gym and worked out there for about a year before I changed paths and began working out from home. Not only was it more convenient (no more beating traffic and getting home late!) but I saw MUCH better results within two weeks of doing it from home. I felt like I was extensively working out in the gym, however I kept gaining weight. Now I never set foot in a gym. I get off work, drive home, get my workout in and that’s it! I can go ahead with a shower and get dinner started and get on with my life. When I tell people this the most common question I get is “How do you stay motivated to workout at home?!” They seem shocked to find out that I don’t wind up plopping down in front of the television and calling it a day.

I thought I would share some tips with you and how I get motivated. Whether you need motivation in general or you’re like me and want to work out from home. Check out these 5 ways to get motivated and comment with any tips of your own:

  1. Do it First. Prioritizing is a must. Especially if you do not particularly like working out, chances are the more you procrastinate doing it, the less likely you are to actually get it done. Do yourself a solid and make working out your top priority, then it will be done and you can go about your day. I prioritize it by making it the first thing I do when I get home from work, and on the weekends, I do it right after a light breakfast.
  2. Pump Yourself Up. Have you ever known in your head that you really needed to work out but you just can’t find yourself getting up and doing it? Try blasting some music, something to getting you pumped up and dancing. This will get your blood flowing and get you energized. Heck, at this point you’re already up and sweating, might as well run it out or grab some weights right?
  3. Put on Your Attire. If you dress the part, you’re more likely to feel and act the part. You always hear people say “Put on your running shoes, it will make you want to go running.” Well, this has some truth. I will also add to purchase new active wear. Nothing makes me want to work out more than splurging on myself and wearing my new finds!
  4. Have a Snack. I eat anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour before my scheduled workout. If I know I will be home at 5:30, I’m sure to eat around 4 or 4:30. You don’t want anything heavy but you want something to boost your energy and keep hunger at bay while you’re working out. My favorite pre-workout snacks are bananas, Larabars, or homemade oatmeal bars I make. Again, do not eat something that weighs you down, otherwise you will feel sluggish and will NOT work out. Keep it simple and light.
  5. Develop a Routine. Many people will tell you that routine is boring. Maybe it is, but sometimes it’s necessary to get where you want to be. A routine will become something you can expect and you know you have to get it done and then you can move on. My routine is simple: I go to work and come home and work out for an hour. I just get in and get it done. As soon as I get home I change into my work out clothes. For me, this switches something on in my brain that locks me into this moment where I understand this is something I have to do each day. Developing a routine keeps the guess work out of the equation and for most of us, we do not like to have to break apart our routine. Therefore, NOT working out will become abnormal.

I hope this information helps keep you motivated as it does for me. Keep in mind, never overwork yourself. Rest days are necessary! Do not beat yourself up if you go one or two days without a hardcore workout but try to get up and move every day. A light walk is more beneficial than people tend to believe. Also, it’s never a bad thing to have someone keep you accountable. A solid support group is great thing to have, especially if you are newer to leading a healthy lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

